Starpery.com

how to modify a doll

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
johnwick55

how to modify a doll

Post by johnwick55 »

this is my first time posting here. so i got my doll a month ago, it's a realdoll from abyss creations. and even though i knew that it would be heavy and the website says very clearly that they are hard to move around, i still thought "no problem, i'm strong enough to carry it." it has realdoll2 body type d which is like 5'6" or so and easily weighs over 100 pounds. i stupidly thought that i could store it under my bed, but there is no way that is going to work. the doll is so cumbersome and awkward and fragile that i haven't even taken it back out of the crate in two weeks because it's just too much work. i can move it to my bed, but trying to re-position it once it's in bed is almost impossible, and its hands and wrists are constantly getting bent the wrong way every time i try to move it. honestly, it's too bulky and heavy and i kind of regret buying it.

so here's my question. i think some of you might be horrified at the thought of doing this to your own dolls, but i want to remove the arms at the elbow and the legs at the knee. basically, i want to turn it into something like a torso doll. it would remove some of the weight and make it much easier to move around, and also make it possible to store it in a smaller space. is there any procedure for doing this kind of modification? i can cut through the silicone, but how are the joints assembled? are there screws or something to hold the joints together, that i can simply undo in order to remove the doll's forearms and lower legs? has anyone else tried something like that? i'm open to suggestions.

orchido

Re: how to modify a doll

Post by orchido »

johnwick55 wrote:... i want to remove the arms at the elbow and the legs at the knee...
Oh the HORROR! You give me the nightmares! :twisted:

Why not sell the doll instead and buy a smaller one?