Starpery.com

Minor finger repair, advice needed...

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
MF_Thatherton
Active Poster
Active Poster

Minor finger repair, advice needed...

Post by MF_Thatherton »

Hey, all. Did a tiny bit of finger damage... while posing her finger, I used force a little too far from the joint, which resulted in me bending the silicone instead of the skeleton, and it partially detached her fingernail. It's minor enough that it's not visible unless you touch the fingernail, but if you do touch it, the nail will lift, and there's a very tiny bit of skeleton exposed.

This is my first repair (I'm a newbie), so I'm wondering how best to address it. As I said, the doll is silicone. What is the best way to repair this so that it holds well? What time of glue, how much so that it is a strong bond but doesn't leak out of her fingernail and look sloppy, and whatever else I'm not thinking of.

Thanks!

MinniMagg

Re: Minor finger repair, advice needed...

Post by MinniMagg »

I have not used it on a Silicone based doll but for my TPE based ones I followed one of the other people on the TDF Board. And that was to SPARINGLY use Loctite Superglue Gel.

I put ONE DROP on a piece of way paper and then dip a toothpick in the drop to scoup up some of the superglue. The place it under the nail and do a quick "Press and release. "IF" any excess superglue comes out, use another toothpick to get it off the hand or nail. Be aware that time is against you!

If there is no 'extra', press and hold the mail down fora minute and then check the bond. You can always put some in the sides so don't think you only have one chance! That is, if you use it sparingly! It's best to do the top and then add some under the sides if needed.