betterlovedoll.com

Guardian documentary about the future of love dolls

Articles about Dolls and Owners in digital and printed media.
Also includes radio.
Guardian_journalist
Media Account
Media Account

Guardian documentary about the future of love dolls

Post by Guardian_journalist »

Hi there,

I'm a documentary producer at the Guardian newspaper in the UK. We are working on a documentary, looking at the future of love dolls and how AI and robotics will make doll ownership go mainstream. We have access to Realdoll's latest robotic doll, and will be filming at their workshop in California in February.

I'm looking for doll owners who can talk to me about what its like living with a doll, and what the future of dolls - particularly robotics and AI - might mean to them. We are particularly looking for doll owners who live in or near Las Vegas or Los Angeles.

The Guardian prides itself on being fair, honest and respectful in its reporting and any subjects in this film would be treated as such. Initial conversations will be in full confidence and off the record.

Interested? Know someone who is? Respond here or get in touch

tom.silverstone@guardian.co.uk

Thanks,

Tom

rubyfan
Doll Advisor
Doll Advisor

Re: Guardian documentary about the future of love dolls

Post by rubyfan »

Requests like this are akin to asking gay men to go on-camera to talk about their sex lives in America circa 1955. The repercussions could be insignificant, or they could be severe.

I don't know exactly what it's going to take to mainstream this technology, but the demand is certainly there (though pushed underground through social censure). My guess is that what's needed are sex robots that are utilitarian first, and sex-capable second. Anita in the U.K. television series 'Humans' is precisely marketed this way. I don't see any reason that shouldn't work (setting aside the sheer engineering difficulty).